Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Wasp Nest Atttack!!

I went up to Roxton this morning for the 1st time in a week. I only ever visit the "lake" on the way to or from work and I have had a week off, so no visits. Despite being a lovely morning there wasn't an awful lot to Blip so I decided to take a look at a Wasp nest I've been watching which has been constructed in one of the banks. I was surprised to see that the entrance had been dug out and the nest exposed, the wasps were carrying out repairs. What might you ask would be bold enough to attack a wasp nest in such a fashion? Well it appears it was probably a Badger, there are several references to badgers attacking wasp nests in late summer , to get the wasp larvae. The badger attacks at night while the wasps are inactive, apparently the Badgers fur protects it but it's nose and mouth must be stung in the process.

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.