The Old Greasepaint

My first visit to the Royal Mile this Festival Fringe and it was mobbed.

Seems there were quite a few blippers in the crowd - but to be honest it would have been like looking for a needle in the proverbial.

The atmosphere was buzzing and after overcoming the traditional asking people for permission to take their portrait nerves lifted I had a fun wander and got some cracking street portraits (well, I think so - you be the judge):

> Shifty Stand Off

> Cone Head (and blip runner up)

> Norman the Robot (sorry guys, maybe I'll catch you again and blip you next time)

> Lycra Guitar Man

> Courtesan (Tonto blipped this young lady too)

But in the end this was my favourite - the affection on this guys face as he helped his fellow performer (from the show Two Bloody Queens) was a picture, but this expression he gave me as I asked him to touch up herhis make up was what sold it to me.

I'm going to try and do lots of street portraits and ask people for permission while I get the chance during the Festival Fringe. Lets see where it takes us!

Edit: Oooh - chuffed to see my shot on the Festival Buzz page - thanks guys!

- - - - -

LOTD: I love the feeling (and the haircut) in Max Ellis's "chip off the old block" and also the colours and feeling in It's a Mogs Life's "Wild Horses..." blip - both great shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.