Pob's World

By Pobsworld

Port Seaton Harbour

Took an early evening drive to East Lothian and stopped at Port Seaton. I timed it perfectly lightwise and ended up with too many shots to choose from. Plumped for this one but the others are here. The chimneys in the background are Cockenzie power station.

While I was taking photos a small boy, no more than 7 or 8 came up and asked what I was taking pictures of. When I said I was taking pictures of the boats and the sunset he said 'aye, it's beautiful here. I'm lucky because I live here' He then asked where I lived and when I said Edinburgh, he made a face and said it was too busy there.
He then went on to tell me that his dad owns several fishing boats and that he had just gone out on a dangerous trip, but before he left he had asked the wee boy to try to clear some of the rubbish (bottles and cans etc) from the waters edge. The wee boy and his pal had collected a fair pile of rubbish and were working hard, eager to please his dad. he said he had to show me something and him and his pal took me over to the other side of the harbour wall and showed me where an oil drum been thrown over the wall into the water & had leaked, causing a small slick. The wee soul was sad and angry & said he couldn't understand why someone would do that when it can hurt the birds and kill the fish.

It was a rare pleasure to meet such a sensitive and chatty wee soul who had such pride in his Dad and in the place where he lived. A very old head on young shoulders, his parents should be proud.
As I walked away from him I heard him roar and laugh then shout excitedly
'Look - there's an Elvis mug down there too!'
He sent me away from Port Seaton with a big smile and a yearning to live somewhere like that where kids can be so wise and so easily pleased by an old Elvis mug at the bottom of the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.