Just like a car with a scratch

Phil Kay has a great show called "My Left Shoe" running through the Festival. The kids hand over their left shoe when they go in and then have to get up and entertain everyone to get it back.

Phil asked Joe what he wanted to do (We'd had the worlds worst waitress, frisbees with Ribena boxes, Granny dancing, plastic fork snapping) Joe said "I want to smash your guitar up". Cue nervous laughter from me and mild horror from Phil. That was escalated when he was handed the very fine guitar and reached a bit of a peak as Joe lifted it above his head Pete Townsend style. Phil screamed "Stop" ,thankfully, when he realised Joe was actually going to do it and I started breathing again. But all he did was put down a bean bag which Joe then bashed the guitar into.

They then both decided the Guitar was hurt and needed to be nursed which meant Joe got a piece of chalk and drew all over it while all the time plucking away at the strings. When he decided the guitar had been resuscitated he handed it back.

I apologised after the show but Phil Kay was great "It's just like a car with a scratch, it will still work". I hardly play my guitar at all but I'm keeping it out of Joe's reach from now on just to be on the safe side!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.