Northern Exposure

By Northern

A quick dash over the water

Had to change plans for the holidays due to an overload of work (as if you hadn't noticed I was busy!). The tour of central scotland, family and friends old and new was postponed till less frenzied times. And replaced with few days pottering about at my folks place near Inverness.

But not yet, not for me anyway. I'll not be heading off island properly until Wednesday (fingers crossed) but my wonderful parents drove up to pick up the boys at the other side of the Pentland Firth.

Packed up the boys and their essential items (no duck this time) and jumped aboard the ferry. Jumped off ferry, hugged parents, deposited and hugged children, jumped back on ferry, came home.

The enforced break from working did me the world of good. The plate of chips and silly conversations with the boys (they couldn't understand why I dont know how to build a boat!!) on the way over was entertaining. And the trip back, blew the cobwebs away. An hour or so, standing at the front of a boat watching the see drift by is very good for the soul.

The gannets were everywhere. I once heard them described as the ferrari of seabirds. Describes them to a T. It also explains why this was the nearest I got to an in focus shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.