WeeWifie's Wonderland

By weewifie

Castle Looking Stone

Had a mini family reunion in Ballater, east Scotland, meeting up with my Granny, Grandad, Aunty Dorothy and Uncle Keith who were staying there for a week. My Granny and Grandad were married there and my Dad, Dorothy and their other siblings grew up there as a kids. My Uncle Graeme and my Aunty Sandra also turned up later on in the afternoon.

It was myself, my Dad, my boyfriend, my son, my brother, sister-in-law and their two baby girls that went along for the day in two cars.

I got to drive some of the journey home to Inverness.

THIS is the gorgeous spot that Dad stopped to let me take over (after the single track country roads,as I've only a provisional learner licence and don't think he trusted me with those roads, but did along the other country roads with VERY steep drops down.... lol).

This is a looking stone... it has a few holes that look all the way through the stone to various points. There is one that you look through that outlines the white castle there in the middle of nowhere in the background. For the life of me I can't remember what Dad said it was called, and Google hasn't been my friend sorry!!

Incase you can't make it out the stone is inscribed "As skies or storms behold, take a moment to behold".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.