Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Waulkglen Reservoir, Dams to Darnley, Glasgow

After researching fitments for the impending work in the house, we made a long awaited return visit to the Dams to Darnley Country Park. This time the north end, turning at the Ashoka Mill and trying to find a parking place nearer to the dam wall. I only took my 50mm lens, as I am determined to make it my lens of choice if possible. I am finding the others heavy to carry around on a day-to-day basis.

I was keen to photograph the draw-off tower to compliment my blip of the Balgray Reservoir last September, however there were two very naughty young lads who had climbed behind the barbed wire gate and jumping into the water. As I didn't want to expose their misdemeanour* to the worldwide web, I decided to concentrate on some of the impressive Victorian ironwork around the parkland.

Disappointing lack of car parking. When we next visit, we will return to the road at the Barrhead end, where there are a few pull-in places.

Off to try and fill the remaining five gaps of my Northern Ireland holiday.

*It is illegal to swim in reservoirs used for public water supply.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.