Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Man at Work

Here's my table saw looking a lot different from the last time you saw it. As you can see, I'm restoring the canoe paddles. There were tapered gaps between some of the laminations where the glue failed, and the wood had shrunk. I'm cutting slots to glue in new pieces. Luckily, I was able to find some pieces of wood exactly the thickness of one of my saw blades, saving me a lot of time and effort.
That made up for all the time I wasted trying to find the special long-handled wrench for changing saw blades. I finally gave up and used a standard adjustable wrench -- we call them Crescent wrenches here, although Crescent was a brand name that started in 1907. The first adjustable wrench was called an adjustable spanner, since it was invented by an English engineer (in 1842).

I finished cutting the slots today, and glued up two of the paddles. I was glad to be working in the basement -- it's the coolest part of the house, and it was a very hot day.

Technical note:

I took the blip myself using a remote shutter release.

Safety note:

I use a blade guard on the saw whenever possible, but for this job I needed clear visibility of the blade. The saw was not running when I took the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.