just some steps

Upon reading this week's assignment topic I initially thought that it would at least not require any manufacture given that I spent half of last winter doing long-exposure shots of the pavement until I thought about it properly. Pictures of any unsmooth surface usually count as texture but when describing a cake as having texture or a music as being textured it's always three-dimensional. It's perhaps correct for a knobbly surface to have texture as the lumps and bumps give a planar surface an extra dimension but it's still basically a surface without much real depth. In any case I was wandering about trying to think of ways to get extra depth into the image without the usual method of getting light and shadow to show relief. Then I thought I ought to stop in case I start getting poncey about it and should just head out and look for nice things as normal. Sadly it was too late and as I was walking I was attempting to sort out some wordygarbage concerning the difference between taste and texture and which aspect of an environment each would apply to and so on. Perhaps tomorrow.

I did try one or two things with depth in but they didn't work. Maybe tomorrow for them too although I still want to try the thing I didn't try this evening as it was too late.

Although he's not an urban texture I feel Mr. Heron deserves a wee mention too for sitting nice and still long enough for this. Perhaps he was scared of the suspicious-looking bloke wandering along the path in front of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.