Leanne's Random Photos

By Leannespics

Happy Birthday to Me

Yes, this is an odd picture for my birthday, but it tells it all!

It started off like any other wonderful Take Care of Mommy Day with cereal and Chai tea in bed! Husband had to work on a Saturday. I volunteered to pick up a cake to save him time so he could get home sooner. We got some errands done. Packed the kids up to go to Closer Gramma's for a sleepover.

Phil got home at 3:30. He's a man with a plan! And I had no idea what it was. He was checking out restaurants in Ojai. Ojai? That's far! Loaded folding chairs into the van, blankets, flashlight, GPS. Van? We ususally take his Infinity on date nights. He did mention something about stars, and I was pretty sure he wasn't talking about celebrities.

We becandled (yeah, I made that up!) the cake. Set it afire. (No fire alarms went off) They sang The Song for me. Pigged out on cake and ice cream before dinner! Kissed the kids and we were off!

Apparently, Ojai is only about 40 minutes away! We haven't been here since the first few months we were dating, back in 1987! We found a nice little restaurant with excellent seafood....then we hopped back into the car and it was adventure time!!

Phil's goal was to get away from the city lights! And did we ever!!! He had it all mapped out. The backroads were very dark. Very narrow! REALLY windy! We turned off onto a small road, marked by a number. And for 30 minutes we were going 10 mph over bumps, dodging rocks & ruts. It was paved....kinda. This is a picture of the road! Yes, I was gripping the armrest. Over to the left there is a drop off and I could only imagine how far down we would fall if we went over it! And NO ONE would EVER find us! Cause NO ONE knows were the heck we are!!! (I told him his mother would have kittens if she knew where we were!)

We ended up 6300 ft up! Found a clearing area to pull over. He set up two reclining folding chairs. Poured me some nice hot Chai tea. Bundled me up with a warm blanket. We leaned back and watched the stars!! A bazillion of them! I tried to take their picture, but it didn't work. He took a picture of me that flashed so many times I was blinded for 15 minutes! (Sorry, this road looks better than I did!) I took this on our way back. I went to stick my head out the window to take it an a bat (AAHH!!) flew inches from my head! So instead I stuck my arm out and this is as good as it gets!

This was certainly a birthday I would always remember! We taken an adventure we'd never had before!

Well done, my love!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.