floridahaunts

By shutterbugsue

Sandhill Crane

The Florida Sandhill Crane is a "threatened species". They date all the way back to Prehistoric times some 1.8 million years ago. Their predecessers were much larger than the four foot cranes today.
These wonderful birds live up to twenty years. They are known for a ritual dance that they perform with their mate. They also have a trumpeting call that can be heard from miles away. They like shallow freshwater marshes, prairies,
pastures and Florida farmlands. They can be found from South Florida's Everglades to the Okefenokee Swamp in sourthern Georgia. They also mate for life.
We have the priviledge of seeing thousands of them on The LaChua Trail on Paynes Prairie every year it is a sight to behold and hear.
This was not the perfect blip but there was not a thing stirring in this heat today. I had a kitty, a rose, cows and the Sandhill Crane to choose from.
So I chose the Sandhill Crane it did have a mate but it started running away the minute I got out of the car. Sorry for the behind shot!
I think they are Splendid Birds! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.