Abstract Insight

By jennoney

Stone silent

As I was leaving my Aunt's house this morning, I glanced across the street and saw this beauty. I'd never taken the time to really take notice of her before. Her warm demeanor beckoning others to come closer. She must be strong, for stands totally alone. She is isolated and still stands strong through the lonely days and the ice-cold nights. The detail and passion the sculptor had is completely inspiring...purely breathtaking.

And yet, the more I look at the photo, the more her warm glance turns to a tragic frown-- her eyes pleading. Her demeanor becomes bitter, and her stance frigid. She keeps her hands to her chest, never offering them out to others. I wonder what the sculptor wanted us to see. Did he hope we saw the welcoming woman I met in person, or the distant one I see in the photo?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.