Surprise visitor

Upon opening my curtains this morning, I spotted the underside of this fine fella. I raced out with my camera to see what species of moth he was since he looked quite interesting from the underside and also quite large (about 4-5cm). I couldn't quite reach close enough for a fantastic shot due to the kitchen cupboards being in the way (they're under tarpaulin in the garden until the kitchen is finished). The cat got closer, but he can't work the camera, yet.

It's a Jersey moth. According to the UK moths website, its range is expanding rapidly and it's no longer confined to the Channel Islands and South Devon. The London population may have been an accidental introduction. It feeds on nettles and I've a few in my garden, which do attract wildlife despite it being hazardous to this gardener.

I've managed to do a bit more painting this evening, but there's still a tonne more to do. Little by little. It's already looking much better now that there are only tiny patches of plaster to cover rather than whole rooms of it.

Fred's back tomorrow - yay! No more Mad Woman talking to cat, guinea pigs and tortoise for hours on end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.