Images to inspire

By kenwindsor

Tales from my notice board

It was the end of August 1993, and I had just flown in to New York to stay with my friend Jill. We had grown up together in Devon like Brother and Sister, and she was now Vice President of BBC Worldwide in NYC.

"Will you join me and a friend for dinner," she said, as I unpacked my things.
"I think I will get my head down, My head feels like a pair of braised lamb chops after that flight - to quote a Tony Hancock expression, " I replied.

She burst out laughing - ok I can be funny at times, but that was not really that funny. In fact Tony Hancock had been a boyhood hero of mine and so I put this display of humour down to fact that Jill must have liked him as well.

Fast forward a few days now to my birthday.

"I have arranged a special event for you," she said "Meet me at my office at 6.00pm."

The special event turned out to be a party given by the friend that she wanted me to have dinner with only a few days before, none other than Freddie Hancock, the widow of Tony Hancock. Now I knew why she had laughed so much!

I shall always remember the night, and on my notice board is part of her gift to me, a signed birthday card and a ticket for the New York Lottery. She also gave me a copy of her autographed biography.

So many memories, but alas only one notice board - I can feel a trip to Office World coming on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.