As seen by me...

By GrantR

Fireworks fail...

I am livid.

Seriously. There I was, stood up on Braid Hills Road at 10.20 tonight and getting setup for the few fireworks after the Tattoo. The view from up there isn't the best but at least I could just jump out the car and take the shots.

By 10.35 I was feezing, no coat. All set up and then and only then I remembered I had the skylight filter on the 70-200 f2.8 lens and it was causing a flare from the Esplanade lights. Tried to take it off without removing the lens hood and the fireworks started. Or the couple of squibs and a sparkler started.

Them I realised I had moved the camera and wasn't getting all the castle in the shot, swung it back and got this one and only shot, of pathetic fireworks, of the sort you'd let go in the back garden and feel disappointed.

Waited a few minutes, backed up, all back in car, driving down Comiston Road going home and... WTF... a huge firework burst, at least a full 5 or 6 minutes after the pathetic ones. Raging doesn't even get close.

Hoping the ones of 6th September go rather better than this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.