grahamism

By grahamism

Rhod Gilbert and I - Edinburgh Festival 2010

After a fraught evening, which started with me thinking I was going swimming after work and then to a mate's gig town (neither of which happened because of new classes at the pool that you have to be psychic to know about in advance, and buses that take a full fare to drive you 800 yards *away from town, and then terminate without giving you a ticket).

Anyway, one alternative lead to another and by about midnight, I was up[ town looking for my mate Griff who had just been to the Udderbelly (not a very funny pun on the old name Underbelly, considering its a comedy venue). Couldn't find him, but did find Rhod Gilbert, who was just chatting to some friends outside a comedy show they'd just seen.

Decent obliging guy and all that. Put up with the state I was in fairly well, having walked around in circles for ages between texts from Griff. I wonder if the captain scarlet / kelly jones jacket is actually surgically attached though, its a bit of a trademark by accident I think.

That's not why its worth blipping it up though. What's weird about it is that, last night, I was over visiting a friend that I havent seen much of this year, and then more people I hadn't seen in ages came round... and that was all really really good, and although I'm not a huge tv watcher, I do like Mock The Week (even if its old!) and we were all watching that last night, in passing, and trying to remember Rhod's name (yknow, cos hes really funny, but whassisname?). Not Rob Brydon then.

I love it when things all string together even in tiny obscure ways. When you're as paranoid as me for about 8 hours a day, everything's significant (!), and threads of tenuous connections is what makes our memories more interesting (if less accurate) than any computer could have. If nothing else it gets you from one day to the next, across sleeps. I mean, I think of time as being made of meandering strings. But, ok ok enough weirdness... it was a good night, and here's this is a good summing up of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.