Crown No5

This is what I went to Stanthorpe to collect form Ken's place last week. It is a rare Crown No5 woodfired stove, made right here in Brisbane until the 1950's. This one has seen better days but I don't see why I can't get it operating as it used to. It just needs some TLC... and maybe a few "new" used parts.

I actually looked online for someone who might stock antique Crown stove parts and unsurprisingly there didn't seem to be anyone. I could probably manufacture some of the parts myself. I know for a fact that there a lots of these stoves lying around in abandoned homesteads in the far Outback of Queensland.

So for now I will have to satisfy myself with cleaning it up and working out how to make up some replacement parts myself. A few pieces of 2mm steel cut to size and bent up should work fine.

If nothing else I will be able to install and fire it up this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.