6:30 AM
A tractor trailer carrying oxygen takes a turn too fast overturning on I95 southbound.

7:15 AM
I leave my house for a job. I am suppose to be there by 8:30 and it should take about an hour to get there, but I leave myself a little extra time for morning traffic. Would it have killed me to listen to the radio personalities chatter? No, but I switched channels every time they started talking anyway.

7:55 AM
Eight miles from my exit I happen upon this lovely, scenic view.

8:10-8:30 AM
I call the office until I get hold of someone to let them know I am going to be late. NOT MOVING.

8:40 AM
Car turned off. Feet propped up in the open window of my open car door. How do I not have a book or magazine with me? Ugh. Hooray, for people that text back.

9:15 AM
Really people? This is getting a touch ridiculous. Although, I have now listened to the radio news for the 4 billionth time about hazmat clean up, avoid the area, blah, blah, blah...Note to self listen to traffic reports before driving into the parking lot that is the interstate.

9:30ish AM
What are we moving? No way! Turns car back on. Creeps along so slowly I don't think it even registers on the speedometer.

10:00ish AM
Routed off the interstate on a detour. Call the office to ask for directions. I have no idea where I am. The road they tell me to take is a dead end. Thanks Google maps! Sitting in even more traffic, as apparently I am not the only told the road cuts through, is FANTASTIC.

10:45 AM
Fed up? Yes! Three tenths of a mile from the 301 and 14.5 miles (and probably 45 minutes) from my destination, I call the office yet again. I was only suppose to work until noon. I ask if they still really want me to go. The answer - don't worry about it turn around. Possibly the highlight of my day. U-turn in the middle of the road and merrily on my way moving! North!

Lesson learned
It should probably be to listen to traffic reports, but I think I will just double check and make sure I have a book in my bag before leaving :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.