Photo Thoughts

By CatheeSoo

Trying so hard.

Sometimes it seems like everything works against you. I love my treadmill and my mind wants to do one thing but my body another. Although some days my mind decides it will follow my body and give up. I'm not in the shape I was during the Army days. I could run 8 minute miles in Basic Training. Of course I also had a Drill Sergeant decide he was going to be my battle buddy and give me extra motivation to run as fast as I could. Believe it or not, I really appreciate that now, he felt I was worth spending the extra effort on. Getting down to a 10 minute mile would make me very happy at this point. Right now I can just barely make it through a 12 minute mile. I'm not 18 anymore after all. Also, I'm very short, only 5 ft 1 and I take very short strides. I think I'm being too hard on myself, I'm seeing some improvement but just not getting it all at once like I want.


I love Facebook. Recently a friend and I found an instructor we had during our army Nursing School who we really liked. It was like Christmas to find him on there. I was whining about the treadmill one day when he told me to "Just do it." While that sounds simple, it makes a lot of sense. I've thought about it enough to put this sign over my treadmill. It's only 30 minutes out of my whole day, surely I can get through that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.