Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Dahlias - A Gift from Dad

Flowers... are a proud assertion that a ray of beauty outvalues all the utilities of the world. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson, 1844

We had Sunday Lunch at Gary's parents. It was a lovely sunny day. Today has been so cold and dark that I have almost forgotten what a sunny day feels like.

As we were leaving, Gary's father gave me this lovely pot of dahlias that he had grown. He apparently found some tubers lying around the garage. He has no idea where they came from but he stuck them in a pot... Sometimes he is a bit like an accidental gardener.

They are gorgeous... a beautiful colour. I can't walk past them without stopping to take a second look.

Everywhere I look I see the signs of summer fading and suddenly today I realised that soon there will be no more flowers.

But until that day arrives, I will continue to stop and take a second look...

[b]"Spring passes and one remembers one's innocence
Summer passes and one remembers one's exuberance
Autumn passes and one remembers one's reverence
Winter passes and one remembers one's perseverance."
- Yoko Ono, Season of Glass[/b]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.