Crunchity

By crunchity

Jimmy Reid RIP

Attended Jimmy Reid's funeral in Govan. He really was a heroic figure, although when I knew him it was long after the events that made him famous. The UCS work-in happened in the year I was born, and his Glasgow University rectorial address the following year. That address, of course, was printed in full on the front page of the New York Times which described it as 'the greatest speech since the Gettysburgh Address'.

The funeral itself was an amazing and fitting tribute. The speakers (David Scott, Sir Alex Ferguson, Bob Thomson, Billy Connolly, Jimmy Cloughey and Alex Salmond) were brilliant, and I hope full videos appear on the web soon.
Clips here.

I first met Jimmy when I was 16 and was instantly struck by his intelligence. He had a perspective on life unlike anyone I had ever met, and it was incredibly inspiring to an arrogant young sod who thought he had the world all figured out.

Over the years I got to know him better and greatly enjoyed his journalism (particularly his series on the Soviet Union). Jimmy, you will be sadly missed.

The funeral was held in Govan Parish church, right next to the Pearce Institute which was my small connection to Govan. I used to be a part of the Govan and Paisley Community Theatre Group, which was based there. We wrote and put on plays which we toured around Glasgow, and every Christmas we did a panto. We used to get quite a good turnout for the panto and once, while wandering around Govan market, I was recognised by some local kids (I always played the baddie). 'No autographs, please' was my refrain as I pulled down my fedora, flung my scarf around my neck and quickened my step...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.