Dai Urnal-Instants

By DaiUrnal

De Nova Stella

This Lion of Bath is 'STAR', by the artist Rich Simmons.

De Nova Stella
No Red Giant but a Pink
Panthera Sulis


(with apologies to Tycho Brahe).

His placard is inscribed "I'm one of the late entry bonus Lions and don't appear on the map, so well done for finding me - aren't I gorgeous!"

Serendipitously, I found 'STAR' steadfastly guarding the entrance to the former General Post Office, now a clothes shop, opposite the Forum in the centre of Bath.

I had thought there were already not 100 but 101 Lions in this locality (Bath, not Dalmatia). The Joker in the pack is the floral centrepiece to be found in the Parade Gardens. I have since learned that another Lion of Bath will appear in Debenhams, when their new store opens in the Southgate Centre on 2nd September. And, I am led to believe, Box also has a Lion, making the count at least 104.

Though these late arrivals are not on the official printed tourist map of the Lions of Bath 2010, some of them at least feature on the online map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.