postcards from new york

By editrrix

the jealous girlfriends

It's CMJ in NYC this week, which means there are new unsigned bands everywhere you look. The Jealous Girlfriends, a four piece from Brooklyn, played a short set in my neighborhood this afternoon. They are somewhat experimental with the keyboards, but the lead vocalist Holly has a great range and can at any point sound like a pissed off Kim Gordon, an exotic Chan Marshall (Cat Power), or even a playful Regina Spektor.

In other news, my camera is broken, so I feel somewhat crippled myself. I called Canon today and it will take at least 3 weeks!!!! to repair. And I don't even know what it will cost. Even so, there is nothing in the budget for camera repair when you can't pay the rent. I might have to embrace an out-of-focus period until I can buy something new or fix this. Right now I am getting about a 25 percent return on my shots so I'm overshooting everything and feeling really DEPRESSED. And Saturday is ZOMIECON in NYC. Can you imagine? Hundreds of pictures of unfocused zombies? It's all too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.