Meester Feature

By Meestermartin

Big Old Stone

This is part of an ancient stone circle in Aberdeenshire. East Auquorthie, I do believe.

On the epic hike to the circle I explained to junior Misssy why folk sacrificed stuff and how precious blood was. She was singularly unimpressed, preferring to identify moths and butterflies and avoid jaggies. And yet...

Rudolph Otto named it the numinous- the mystery that terrifies and yet attracts. I always feel a bit of this when I stand at ancient stones.

But- is it all just a huge case of OCD? If I carry a huge rock here, I can control part of the universe and hope for good things? Is that what all religion actually is?

Whoa! Time to lay off the Stilton I think. But that big old stone still felt powerful...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.