Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Life and love

Newborn and family shoot - one of my favourites ever. All taken with natural California light outdoors. I wanted to photograph the delicacy of Baby T's fingers against the masculinity of Dad's and without creative direction, caught the Mum and Dad peering into each other's eyes with such love, unchoreographed. I've decided having invested in some studio gear earlier this year that really I have no idea how to tackle that. This is what I love doing: having the freedom and space to work outdoors with nature and God given light. I hope you enjoy them too.

Today is hugely significant: it dawned on me during the appointment with pulmonary that is is three years to the date Reuben's heart was repaired in six different areas. Through that, he was given another chance at life and because of that, we have delighted in every single day of his existence, stolen from what was not meant to have been.

What a great day! The end of school picnic at UCLA, the boys jumping in the same toy car together. How I will have to revisit the boys together in the wooded play area last year at the same summer picnic. I could quite easily have blipped one of the many shots there. Until that is, I was asked to photograph my friend Laurie's family. I met Laurie outside Santa's grotto at The Grove whilst with another friend from my NICU days. And it surpassed that not only did all three of us girls have IVF to have our babies, but we all went via the same Dr in LA. Most uncanny.

In the afternoon, I spent several hours with the boys at the hospital seeing Reu's pulmonary Dr and, realising I'd lose the keys when I arrived at the car, hurried back, retracing my steps. When I pulled Callum out from playing behind the door in the room, I catched a quick glimpse of the shining keys. Thank you Callum! You may have lost them on me in the first place whilst playing around in my bag, but all was forgiven when I found them again.

Racing back now to photograph Laurie's brother, sister-in-law and Baby T, her Dad, sister and her IVF twins was a challenge. We knew it was going to be a tough call as the family were fresh off the 6hr plane journey from Chicago and kids always want to do their own thing. And here's the result: one of my favourite ever photographs. I see beautiful love and respect for the mother of his child, the delicate curls on the nape of Baby T's neck, the background light which was fading fast in the late evening. I'd love to share the rest from the shoot because it's one I'm particularly proud of and whilst I adore the gorgeous eyes running through the cousins and the macro captures of the rings, this is my Blip of the day.

I finished editing at 4am but have been catching up with more today, giving them about 200 print ready proofs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.