John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Harmonica at the Market

We're at the Farmer's Market, held every Saturday in the little village of Tamworth, New Hampshire, where we've been staying at a family house for a week.

I was immediately drawn to this fellow's harmonica, which provided a beautiful counterpoint to his folk songs with vocal and guitar. I've loved this sort of harmonica accompaniment ever since hearing Bob Dylan in the sixties--those early songs of his remain the ones I love the best.

I told the gentleman I loved his harmonica; he said he gotten one as a gift at age ten, and never stopped since. And he immediately lit up at the mention of Bob Dylan--and Freight Train Blues (a totally brilliant little song).

It was our last day, so afterward we regretfully headed south, back to Northampton.

(I'm about to BACKBLIP images for 8/18-8/20)

The Blip for 19 August is a Mystery Blip--comments welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.