With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Last light of tthe day

Agu and I went shopping in the village after AKHF, mv and Joey departed. I had a long, slightly enforced conversation with a chap sitting outside a cafe. He was telling me of his problems and subsequent lack of health care. Apparently, the more problems you have, the less help you deserve. His was an old story I suppose, but I don't understand how it can be right that an old man is sent home with no money and no clothes except hospital robes, after having a perforated ulcer, and with no after care being set up for him because he is an alcoholic.

Anyway, that out of the way, the day was lightened enormously by a visit to Mike and Shannon's. I haven't seen Mike for over 20 years and never met Shannon before, or her mum, but I spent the most relaxing evening for a long while. We covered so many topics at top speed while Agu entertained their boys, and time flew. I'm so glad we got in touch after all this time. Mike hasn't changed a bit - he can flit from the Scouse banter to honest, open emotions seamlessly. Shannon drove me back and I was smitten by her Californian charm and feel a bit of a soul sister moment coming on. Great boys, growing naturally and freely, with two of the best laughs this side of the Atlantic. Thanks guys for a really importantly lovely time. Bet your shots are better than mine Shannon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.