Rick Curran

By rickcurran

That's no moon. It's a space station.

Ok, it's not actually a full moon until the 24th of August but work with me here, also I couldn't resist the Star Wars reference for the title :)

I saw the moon when I looked out of my front door so I thought I'd have a go at trying to capture an image of it. I used a 300mm image stabilising lense on a tripod but I still had to crop in quite a bit on the resulting shot to get the image here. I guess I need something a bit more powerful than a 300mm lense to get anything sharper. I quite like the image though, you can see craters and various marks etc.

"I often think that the night is more alive and more richly colored than the day." ~Vincent Van Gogh

I've posted the original uncropped image here if you want to see how much cropping had to be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.