Ionnature

By ionnature

Giant Water Slide

This is a strange and unique event that took place this weekend in Grand Rapids. And the entire city is all a-twitter (sorry:) that it hit the New York Times. Well-known in Grand Rapids, Rob Bliss has his detracters, but has brought a bit of fun over the past few years to Grand Rapids.

Thinking I might get some interesting photos, I checked it out this afternoon. But they were having some technical difficulties when I got there (that's the organizer, Rob Bliss, in the dark shorts and fire hoses trying to speed up the sliding).

Here you can get a better sense of its length and this is towards the beginning of the line, which wound all the way down and back up the other side.

Walking back to my car I found people just enjoying the water runoff (don't miss the dog) (and I hated to think about water resources and the scarcity of it world-wide but couldn't help myself).

This last group was just too priceless to pass up. A tailgating party in a pay parking lot.

I'm off to Indiana for a few days so will catch up with you all later this week. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.