Raecheybaby's Eyes

By raecheybaby

Camping with a twist.

Well, yesterday i had another good day. I took myself off to Coventry on the train to meet up with family and spend time together. I was out of the flat for the afternoon and evening. It was great.

Until I got home, to an unusually quiet flat that smelled musty.

In the kitchen I found four - you heard right - four drips coming from the ceiling of a standard that almost qualifies as waterfall.

The water had dripped into my bread crock - that contained bread. Onto my wood and laminate table that had food and my beloved laptop on it. Worst of all, it had dripped into my toaster and all over the counter where my cordless kettle stand - you know the kind "do not immerse in water" - well, guess who's going shopping?

My electrics had blown, I couldn't use the house phone, I had to call all sorts of people at midnight to come out and look and help me work out just what on earth had happened. It was a bad and very short night's sleep when I finally got to bed after making the kitchen as safe as I could.

Six buckets of water, four bathsheets and three teatowels and at least 18 hours after the dripping started, the source has been worked out and the dripping has finally come to an end.

The punchline? This little stove was the only way I could cook. I do love camping, but I love my electric coffee pot more and I couldn't use it. Talk about insult and injury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.