Photo a day for 2010

By kusasi

Explorers past and present

knew Wilson came from Cheltenham but have only recently realised that I have been driving past his birthplace most days. With that in mind I wanted to get a photo as it occurs to me that my days in Cheltenham this year will now be few and far between.

Wilson was born in 1872 and in Cheltenham. I was born in 1972 in Cheltenham. Wikipedia describes Wilson as a distinguished explorer, physician, naturalist, painter and ornithologist. Well, I've got some nice bird pictures this year, completed my degree covering all sorts of science and environmental angles, and I know a thing or two about animals.

But explorer? Well, being born one hundred years after him in the same town, I am planning my own trek of exploration ninety-nine years after him. Wilson famously died in the heroic quest with Scott in 1912 to reach the South Pole. Beaten by Amundsen and his team, he reached the South Pole with Scott, only to perish on the return. My own quest is to the Himalayas in 2011 - as part of a team of 14 (excluding sherpas and medical team) to raise money and awareness for charity:water. You can find out more about it here

I hope my tenuous parallels with Wilson are not all the same - I have every intention of returning safe and sound - when my statue stands alongside Wilson in the Promenade in Cheltenham, or the blue plaque adorns the family home, I sincerely hope that my "to" date allows me to see the London Olympics and beyond! Besides they can't all be true - he beats me hands down at painting, I can say that with confidence ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.