A gathering.....

of family and friends to celebrate the life of Bert, my dad!! This was an amazing day, so powerful in so many ways.....i think there must have been about 50 people gathered in the beautiful small chapel at the Warriston Crematorium....old friends, family I hadn't seen in some cases for 20 years....and people from my father's life that I'd never met.....the atmosphere was so warm and caring. I think one of the most touching moments i experienced was when the 4 men who carried the casket into the chapel, arranged the velvet drape over it, and took a step back and bowed....oh my, what a respectful and dignified moment that was!

This is me, and my sister next to me (as if you couldn't tell right!) and all our cousins from my mother's side of the family.....we grew up together, moved away and came back together to celebrate Uncle Bert !

I also did something that i feel so proud of, and something i wasn't sure i could in fact do.....i gave a eulogy to my dear old dad.....to feel the love and support from all the people out front made my heart soar.....and there were a few chuckles too....he was a man that had a good sense of humour and i seem to have inherited that, along with many other characteristics, from him!

Lots of wonderful moments with dear friends, family and of course, good food and many glasses of wine.....which continued late into the evening back at my sister's house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.