Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Slow Dance

The wedding. And of all the photos that I took on this day, this one right here was the money shot. I about jumped up and down and woohooo'd during their romantic slow dance when I saw this image pop up on my screen. I contained myself just long enough for the song to stop and when the bride looked over at me, I said to her, "Thanks for the blip". She smiled. She is a big blip fan. I wanted this particular photo to look really nice. I didn't have to change much because the sky actually looked like this. The lighting was such that they were just starting to become silhouettes against the sky. The lights were sparking in the background. The dip at the end of the dance was perfect. And the way the bride threw her head back showed pure happiness.

So the wedding. I do love weddings. I appreciate weddings 100% more now that I have experienced my own wedding. I understand the time and patience and money that goes into creating such a memorable celebration. I look around at all the guests and feel so many different connections of love and support. This wedding was beautiful. It was fairly small. Lots and lots of family and selected close friends. It was elegant yet simple. The food was incredible and was served family style at each table. The kids had their own table full of bubbles, bouncing balls, mini slider hamburgers and cupcakes.

During the ceremony, the bride choked up while saying her vows. Well that just gets me every single time. I found myself smiling as hard as I could with tears in my eyes. The sun was just starting to set. It was a moment. The bride and groom were lost in a moment and many of us were tearing up. The feel of this wedding was wonderful. Because it was intimate and obvious that the connection felt between the bride and groom is very special.

We hit the dance floor. And we hit it hard. My husband won the dance off. He tends to do that at weddings. You wouldn't think so by meeting him because he can come across more reserved but when that music hits, he throws out his best moves. They are his own made up moves and his dancing is more of a comedy act than anything else, but it gets people going and this wedding got going. Almost every single guest was on the dance floor. And the sky was orange and pink and yellow. And the music was loud. And I knew that things were really getting started when one of the guests jumped up high and landed in the splits.

After the wedding, we got to ride in the limo with the bride and groom into downtown. That was so incredibly fun. Everyone was so happy and celebratory and we couldn't be happier for this couple. A truly memorable day for everyone involved. A truly memorable day for the bride and the groom. I am so happy to have caught this image at the end of their first dance. In my mind, it speaks volumes.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.