Dancing Nomad

By DancingNomad

Seeds of Arugula

I'd never known what arugula seeds looked like, until I let one of my plants go -- to seed! That had always been a figure of speech. Now I know something real that is described with those same words, something that bears promise for the future, a small and compact sprig of pockets that can produce a whole field of delicious spicy arugula that can make any bland veggie feel like it's dressed up and going to town...

The photo pleases me with its information enshrined, but it also feels good in that way the Japanese aesthetic that appreciates ordinariness, the simple, worn, even awkward everyday. No frills. No cropping. Nothing fancy. Just a lovely arc of realness.

PS: I realize what is in the photo is not 'seeds' but the seed pods. The seeds are inside. I broke one open and they are tiny orbs that taste spicy and full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.