Lisa Marie

By lisamarie

Paris.

We went to Montmatre's cimetiere (graveyard). It wasn't something we'd intended to do that day but we stumbled upon it. I'm really glad we did as it sticks out in my mind as one of my favourite parts of the holiday. This definately sounds morbid but there was such a peacefulness there - in an otherwise busy and quite touristic/seedy area. The graves varied greatly in age and some in particular were extremely grand. I think we spent over an hour there taking photographs and exploring. I found it quite interesting that a bird had died on top of one of the graves - in a way it seemed quite a fitting place to die but it was also strange that it had been left there so long. I would have thought someone might have moved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.