A Canterbury Tail

By Canterbury

West Coast Mailbox

I went for a mountain bike ride today, Barking and Cousteau went for a walk on the beach. The route for the mountain bike ride came from an old (1999) mountain bike book. Twenty minutes into a technical and steep uphill I came to the conclusion that the creek bed I was riding up has changed a lot in the last 8 years.

After pushing the bike up the creek for a further half hour it became possible to ride again. Had a brilliant ride up on the tops above Kaniere, the weather went from fine to moody to awful to shocking and back to fine. I was already pretty wet having fell in the creek while trying to cycle up it, and had pretty well dried off by the time I had finished being lost.

Brilliant, I really need to do it more often.

This blip is of a West Coast farmers mailbox on the way to Hokitika Gorge. You pass through some amazing West Coast scenery, but somehow I like this shot best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.