Joe's Blips

By joesblips

A Congregation of Cormorants

Well guys, I am going to be busy over the next couple of days, so apologies in advance if I don't manage to get around to your masterpieces for a while. We are expecting a visit from one of my brothers and his wife. He is recovering from a recent operation so we want to pull out all the stops and give them as much of our time as possible.
I had great intentions about inflicting some close up work on you today but when I was dropping my stepdaughter off at her workplace, who should I see but this bunch of guys having a great old time in the warm morning sun, right in the middle of the river. They were simply too nice and comical. Just had to be blipped.
By the way, does anyone out there know the collective noun for a bunch of cormorants? I know that for crows it's "a murder" (very apt I always thought) and fo eagles its "a convocation" but what about these guys. If I had to make one up I think it would be "a congregation". They always remins me of a crowd of old fashioned churchgoers all dressed up in their best Sunday black. Come to think of it "a funeral" or "a mourning" would be very appropriate too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.