In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Tumbleweed mid sized

This is the TW (tumbleweed) that gets to be posted. I had a small and large one also to share. Since it is still summer, they are still growing. I chose this one because it show the blooms have turned to seed (sort of like Dandelion seeds) and after I took this picture I VERY carefully uprooted the large taproot and cut the seed pods off into the trash bag so I wouldn't spread those seeds! This one is 2 feet wide, but hasn't filled in it's middle sections with more branches yet.
I didn't know how wide-spread this noxious weed has become! It seems like the only people it hasn't reached (yet) are Finland and the Philippines!
I disagree with the article that says they are full-grown in Autumn and break off and roll away. It depends on how much water they get as to how big they get before they can dry out and possibly break off. I think if we didn't cut them off and get rid of them that they might keep growing in the mid winters of SoCal (just like roses bloom year-round).
So since so many countries have these weeds, I don't see the need to post the other blips to Flickr.
Tomorrow I will blip the taproots of the seedling (yesterday) and the small, mid and large plants that I uprooted to the trash, so you can see the difference in size.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.