Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Hovering Robin

I was a bit short of time today so it's another bird blip I'm afraid.

This is the same Robin as I blipped yesterday. It has now decided that it doesn't want to feed on the scraps on the ground, however it it unable to grip the feeders like the Blue tits etc. It has now established a strategy to get what it wants which involves sitting on fence post, launching itself at the feeder, grabbing a morsel and returning to the post. It tries to hover hummingbird like but can only achieve a fraction of a second before it has to fly off. This action is repeated several time over (luckily for me) until it is spooked and it moves away only returning when the coast is clear. Needless to say I havn't seen any other Robins try this.
View Larger


I took a stroll around the garden on my way in and found a Holly Blue resting on a rubard leaf images can be found here and here.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.