BaldyWilson

By baldywilson

This is not a Vulcan

Went to Greenham Common today to take some photographs of the Vulcan bomber as it did a low fly-over on its way to an airshow. I'd been asked to come along by a friend, and was told to keep it very quiet, as it was a special one-off, but would I mind coming and could they use any photographs. This was all due to take place at 2pm. We arrived at Greenham Common just after the Vulcan completed what I am assured was a rather spectacular fly-over at 1:30 - half an hour early.

Oh well.

This photograph is instead a picture of some trees at Greenham Common. It's a bit of an experiment. I wanted to do some long exposures of trees to get a sense of the leaves bluring out the shape - a technique I'd come across a while back. Unfortunately I didn't have any neutral density filters with me (I don't normally take photographs of large aircraft with ND filters on for some strange reason), and I don't have any that fit on my 10mm anyway, so I was rather limited in the "long exposure" stakes, but I'm reasonably happy with the result. (I took some at 2-seconds anyway, just to try. The shape looks good but, as I expected, far too washed out to be any use).

The conversion to black-and-white is a also process I don't normally play with, but I hope the experiment works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.