Blip Challenge

By blipchal

By Jupiter

Its a good night for Jupiter, except it isn't. There is dew falling which fogs lenses, Jupiter has chosen to appear behind a tree which means some waiting around, and focusing is tricky. I tried bolting my camera onto the telescope, makes for a 1700mm lens, but you are subject to the whims of atmospheric movement. If you take enough one will come out sooner or later - probably.

So I went back to a more tried and tested mechanism, a webcam. You take a movie, and integrate across the frames. There is software that will do it for you. I takes the good ones and superimposes them, this also gets rid of the noise that is always present in sensors. So it takes all the best frames and adds them together. A little bit of tweaking afterwards to bring out the colours. If I was better I could have enhanced the satellites too. I think this is the result of about 50 frames out of 200.

However in the end, I got there.

You can just about see some of the satellites too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.