floridahaunts

By shutterbugsue

Florida Wood Duck

Momma Wood Duck and brand new babies. I chased these silly ducks from one side of the pond to the other. I was one tired old lady when I got through. I had four pics to choose from and none of them really did much for me.
Florida Wood Duck is the most common duck in Florida. It is known in Florida as the "summer duck" and or the "acorn duck" The male ducks are brightly colored and the females are grey and brown in color. They are found throughout North America, from British Columbia and Quebec, as far south as Mexico and Florida. Most of their diet consists of seed, fruits and plants. They are especially fond of acorns from water oaks especially when they have fallen in the water. Courtship takes place in the winter. They like to nest in trees with open cavities in them. They usually nest anywhere from three to sixty feet up in the tree. They also will use man made boxes. They lay up to ten to fifteen eggs and when the last one is laid they incubate for thirty days. The female leaves the nest twice a day, early morning and evening before they hatch. The male or drake leaves once the eggs are hatched. Ducklings usually leave the nest the day after they hatch. They sometimes jump from as high up as seventy feet and land unhurt. They stay with their mother for nine weeks and then they are on their own.
I had one more thing on my mind tonight. I know it is not unusual to unsubscribe to someones journal. I noticed today I had lost one of mine. I just want to say
I hope I did not say something that was misunderstood or I hope I certainly did not offend someone if I did I certainly did not intend to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.