Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Backyard Falls

From one of my neighbors who has several waterfalls in their backyard. A light painted waterfall scene...

With an hour left in Tuesday, let's say good Wednesday everyone.

Enlarge

Caution Tech Stuff:

This was a blast and I love the final result but was a considerable amount of work. With the camera locked down I took 17x 30 second exposures using a wireless remote shutter release. Each photo had a different area of the scene light painted with an LED flashlight.

Once home I loaded all 17 photos into 17 separate layers in one file. I blended them all together using the "Screen" blend mode. Looking at each layer by themselves I removed 3 unneeded leaving me with 14 remaining. I then added a mask to each layer. Painting with a soft edge black brush in the mask I painted out everything that was not what I was light painting in the scene. Then I adjusted a couple of the layer opacity's to tone down some hot areas. The LED light is a bit blue and cold so I added a 15th layer as a #85 warming filter.

Even with the water steady you can see some blurring in the foreground Lilly pads. Not much I can do about that while using 30 second long exposures except to stop the pumps. I plan on doing more of these in the future...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.