Moments

By togrrrl

Art Show

Tonight a friend and I went to the opening of a Julian Schnabel exhibition at the Art Gallery of Ontario. He is a very famous artist and character.All I knew about him was that:

a) he glued broken plates on canvas and that was considered original and made him famous
b) He has made several good movies and I haven't seen any of them
b) he is a larger than life character and has had at least two beautiful wives, many children and is very rich

I know all of this from articles in Vanity Fair, a well respected source of art information :)

Well, I was blown away by the energy and power of his paintings and photographs. The man can paint. And there were a few of the broken plate pieces and they were amazing - plates and crockery, glued, painted on, flat, sticking out. It was chaos but made sense.The exhibit reminded me of Picasso in its vitality, creativity and ego.

I had a bright idea of making an "homage to Julian Schnabel" picture in Photoshop. I took a picture of a coffee cup and saucer at the exhibit and was going to "smash" them with Photoshop and reassemble the pieces into something resembling art. Well, ideas are great, but the Photoshop skills elude me (I won't even mention the art skills). I'm frustrated! There is so much to learn. Least of all trying to do all of this late at night.

So, this is a picture of the reflection of the people and the exhibition in the window. I think the image has some of the energy of the exhibit and the graininess and lack of focus matches my Photoshop frustration!

I want to thank everyone for the favourites and favourable comments on yesterday's blip. Makes me feel very, very good to know that I can share my excitement at the wonderful things I see with my camera with everyone here.

And now it's too late to comment :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.