Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Wake Me Up When September Ends

Right, a quick update on the fun and games of the last forty-eight hours; the first of my two days off got off to a stellar start yesterday when I got called into work. This left me with just an hour or two to get all the shopping and other errands done (including my blip for the day, a hasty shot of the castle). After a fairly exhausting shift at work, I was looking forward to getting home and having a good night's rest.

Unfortunately, the plumbing in our house (which has been an ongoing problem for some time) had other plans. Right about the stroke of midnight, the pipes in the bathroom decided to rupture, and send a cascade of water into the walls and floor. When it became apparent that the kitchen ceiling downstairs was bulging from the water that had flowed into it, we realised that we had quite a problem on our hands.

With all electricity in the house switched off and buckets to catch the leaks in the various rooms they sprung up in, me and my housemates were forced into an impromptu torchlit vigil as we attempted to work out how to switch the water supply off. With a few beers this wasn't as stressful as it otherwise could have been, and as the picture above shows, at least one tenant of the house found ample time for some rest and relaxation amid the general chaos.

I eventually managed to make it to bed as the sun dawned on a new month. It felt pretty tempting to just stay asleep for the next thirty days, but unfortunately, I just don't have the stamina for hyper-relaxation that our cat so effortlessly manages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.