Contradirony

By contradirony

I can see a rainbow

Red and yellow and pink and green...

I normally avoid writing anything personal/serious here but I'll have today as an exception. Although I had not thought of this at the time of the blip,I certainly do now - a former lecturer of my undergrad years and also main supervisor of a close friend of mine passed away this morning. He was in his early/mid sixties and the death was rather sudden. His departure is a huge loss to the academic department and he will be missed by many.

This blip reminds me of one of the first lectures he'd given us - he photocopied a few pages from the book, It Must be Beautiful: Great Equations of Modern Science, as an example of the aesthetics of mathematics, something most people would never even dream of describing it as. The reflected colours here is pictorial proof.

R.I.P. Alexei Pokrovskii

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.