The Poss

By PossMan

Roses for the Flush of Youth

Oh roses for the flush of youth,
And laurel for the perfect prime;
But pluck an ivy branch for me
Grown old before my time.

Oh violets for the grave of youth,
And bay for those dead in their prime;
Give me the withered leaves I chose
Before in the old time

Christina Rossetti (1849)

Mmm - pretty wilted roses (bit like me perhaps) but all that's left in the garden. I don't normally wax poetical but this was inspired by an article by Christopher Howse in today's Daily Telegraph. He was commenting (disapprovingly) on what he thinks is a growing habit of putting sententious quotations on everyday objects. Apparently a carpet in the Oval Office has slogans round the edge including "The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends towards justice".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.