Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

How Can I Keep from Singing?

We're taking the train to Portland on Friday to attend the North American Festival of Wales, featuring the 79th Annual Welsh National Gymanfa Ganu. (A gymanfa ganu is a traditional festival of Welsh hymn-singing in four-part harmony.)

Other events of the festival include seminars, local tours, an eisteddfod, and a concert by a male voice choir from North Wales. For C and me, the highlight of the weekend will be the times we get to sing -- at the Gymanfa Ganu, and all the informal gatherings in the evenings. I hope my vocal cords are up to it -- they'll need careful cooling and lubrication. I've found mildly alcoholic hopped beverages to be most effective.

The larger hymnal was introduced a few years ago, when lighting levels in bars and pubs were lowered to reduce energy consumption, making it harder to read small print. It has nothing to do with aging!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.