Bald Eagle

By JohnJD

Nice Motor

Walking in the sunshine through Knutsford today I spotted this beautiful Citreon Traction Avant parked at the side of the road. I thought about going back to my car for my big camera but thought it might be gone when I came back so took out my little camera and began taking some photos.

As I was doing this the owner returned and was delighted to tell me all about the car. I had been struck by the beautiful lines and he said that this is what had drawn him to this model 30 years ago and that 3 years ago he managed to acquire this beauty.

It is a right had drive model and was made in Slough in 1948. They exported the right hand drive models from Slough to different parts of the world.

He told me that it was a favourite of the Resistance during the war because it was both nippy and stable. The stability came from the design with a wheel at each corner with little overhang at the front and rear.

He certainly enjoyed his car which was for every day driving not for showing. Last year he had toured round France in it. It seemed nippy as he drove off with a cheery beep beep and a wave.
You can see it in all it's glory here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.