Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

Little Langdale Tarn and the Greenburn Horseshoe

An early start. Actually, earlier than that. Over an hour's drive, tired and tension mounting. Was the forecast right? Would there be inversions? Was I heading to the right place? Would I have done better to have stayed in bed? So often I've wished I had.

Fears allayed as Windermere hove into sight shrouded by thick inversion clouds. Onto the Langdales for sunrise. A memorable morning, excitement mounting, light and mist and pink tinged summits. And add to that perfect still mirror tarns.

This isn't my strongest image of the day. Far from it. I was too busy photographing other things when the light would have been best. But I've included it as this one I've waited a long time for. I've been trying to catch Little Langdale Tarn flat and calm, but never yet seen it, even when all the other waters are still. Half an hour later, the reflections had gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.